用身体进行立体式思维

  • 在学校,身体总是固定着,无法自由活动。

    在学校考试时,我们总是“坐在座位上,一个人静静地”接受考试。如同此事所告诉我们的,一直以来所谓的“知能”,都是将身体固定,并在资讯量有限的状态下运用大脑。即便像是“1+1=”这些问题,其资讯量也仅止于数比特。也就是说,我们一直将这种舍弃身体仅靠大脑处理言语和数字这些极少量资讯的状态称为“知识”,并在学校里接受训练。然而,若猛然抬头直接放眼自己周围的环境,就会发现世界是由不可胜数的资讯量所组成的。

  • 与他人及世界交往的能力

    社交性、领导力及沟通能力,甚或“察言观色的能力”及“讨人喜欢的能力”等各种词汇,都指的是与他人及世界交往的能力。这类能力属於极度“知能”层面的活动,须处理空间中瞬息万变且数量庞大的资讯,如周围人们的神情态度,以及四面八方的情况等。而这种知能活动与将身体固定,针对极少量的有限资讯来进行知能活动的校园学习大相径庭。

  • 人们运用身体来领略世界,并运用身体来进行思考

    "人们会创造、述说感人的故事,而这是不论如何训练正确写作,都无法做到的事。因为这是需要仰赖自己的身体去开创世界,在其中培养经验後,才得以一点一滴刻画出的故事。
    人们正更多地运用身体来领略世界,并运用身体来进行思考。"

  • 身体是巨大的资讯网络

    事实上,不仅大脑向身体发出指令,身体中所有的内脏器官、细胞均活跃地进行着资讯交换。我们发现身体内有一个巨大的资讯网络。举例来说,活动身体的肌肉及骨骼会刺激海马体(大脑中掌管记忆及空间感知能力的部分)发展成长,并命令海马体进行记忆。

  • “空间感知能力”的重要性不亚於“语言能力”及“数学能力”

    "近年来,理解物体空间关系并进行记忆的“空间感知能力”,被认为跟“语言能力”及“数学能力”同等重要,且在创造性及创新层面上扮演主要的角色。
    而且还发现与“空间感知能力”息息相关的海马体,会因自己的身体在多样且复杂的空间中到处探险而发展成长。在老鼠的实验中,让老鼠在多样且复杂的空间中进行探索,再将这些老鼠的海马体与普通老鼠的海马体相比,海马体中的神经细胞多出了四万倍,海马体的体积也增加了15%,并且拥有更高的空间感知能力。然而,现在的孩子都无法自由地在外头玩耍。某项调査显示,1981年至1997年间,美国孩童自由玩耍的时间减少了25%。※

    ※ 美国科学杂志「Nautilus」For Kids, Learning Is Moving"

  • 立体式思维,高层次思维

    空间感知能力并不仅止于空间而已,而更进一步被认为与立体式领会世界,立体式思考事物的能力有关。我们称之为“立体式思维”,并且将更高层次的思考方式称为“高层次思维”。

  • 不把蛋壳弄破,便可将蛋黄取出

    "要如何不把蛋壳弄破,便将蛋黄取出呢?
    一般我们都认为不把蛋壳弄破,便无法取出蛋黄。那是由於我们以3次元角度来进行思考。但若以4次元的角度来进行思考的话,不须弄破蛋壳便可将蛋黄取出。这对身处3次元空间的我们来说,实在难以想像呀。

    因为很难,所以我们先把荷包蛋当成2次元的平面物体,透过荷包蛋来思考一下。在我们身处的3次元世界中,荷包蛋的蛋黄只须从上方取起即可,无须破坏蛋白便可轻易取出蛋黄。然而,在2次元的平面世界中没有空间,我们也会与荷包蛋位於同个平面。故此,若想取出荷包蛋的蛋黄,便须通过荷包蛋所在的平面,如此一来就一定得破坏蛋白才能取出蛋黄。"

  • 像这样,平面式思维与立体式思维就如同字面,有次元上的差异。一旦次元不同,那麽对事物的看法、想法还有解决方法都会迥然不同。

  • 都市被平面包围,纸张、书籍、电视及手机都是平面

    自然界的森林与高山等并非平面,而是复杂且立体的。人们透过身体来认识立体空间。可是都市中尽是平面,连纸张、书籍、电视及手机也都是平面。在不知不觉中,我们就舍弃了身体,仅以头脑平面地认识世界。一旦以平面来认识世界,思考也会扁平化。例如说,你任职的公司中若有组织图这张「图」,那麽你的组织便是平面的,组织中也会理所当然地蔓延着平面式思维。

  • 用身体进行立体式思维、高层次思维

    人们运用身体来领略世界,并运用身体来进行思考。我们认为:人们以自己的身体来探索这个复杂且立体的世界时,便会开始运用身体对世界进行立体式领会及立体式思维。我们因为盼望提升大家“运用身体来进行立体式思维、高层次思维”,而启动了“teamLab Athletics:运动之森”这个项目。

BACK

Three-dimensional thinking using the body

  • The body is stationary in school

    At school students must take tests alone while sitting quietly. As symbolized by this example, knowledge entails using the brain whilst keeping the body stationary, and limiting the amount of information. If the problem is “1+1=,” the amount of information is several bytes. What we call “knowledge” that is taught in school, discards the body, it is acquired through language and mathematics, and in terms of information volume the amount is extremely small.
    However, if we take a quick look around ourselves, it is clear that the world is comprised of an immense amount of information.

  • The ability to engage with people and the world

    There are variety of social skills, such as; sociability, leadership, and communication, that all refer to the ability to engage with people and the world. These abilities require extreme cerebral activity to process an enormous amount of spatial information that is constantly changing, as well as the expressions and attitudes of people, and the situation as seen by that person. They are a set of intellectual activities that are very different from the intelligence used with the body fixed in place, processing small amounts of information, as is the case with studying in school.

  • Humans understand the world with their bodies and think with their bodies

    "Creating and telling stories that move people emotionally is not a skill that can be achieved only through repetitive training in writing compositions. Stories are spun from the experiences that are cultivated while exploring the world with our bodies.
    Humans understand the world with their bodies and think with their bodies."

  • The body is a massive information network

    In actuality, in addition to the brain instructing the body, it becomes clear that the body is a massive information network in which various organs and cells inside the body are performing dynamic exchanges of information. For example, we are beginning to understand that the muscles and bones that move the body are developing the hippocampus (the part of the brain related to memory and spatial awareness) and instructing the hippocampus to form memories.

  • Spatial awareness is just as important as linguistic and mathematical abilities

    "In recent years, it is being said that spatial awareness, which is the ability to understand the spatial relations between objects and store them in memory, is just as important as linguistic and mathematical abilities. Spatial awareness is thought to play an important role in creativity and innovation.
    Furthermore, we are beginning to understand that the hippocampus, which is related to spatial awareness, develops through the body exploring and walking around varied and complex spaces. In an experiment with mice, the hippocampi of mice who explored varied and complex spaces had 40,000 times as many nerve cells as the mice who did not, the volume of the hippocampi increased by 15%, and the mice had higher spatial awareness. However, children in the modern age are not able to play freely outside. According to one study, the time that children in the United States play freely outside has reduced by 25% from 1981 to 1997.*

    *Science Magazine in the United States Nautilus For Kids, Learning Is Moving"

  • Three-dimensional thinking

    Spatial awareness does not only involve space. It is thought that spatial awareness leads to the ability to capture the world three-dimensionally and think of things three-dimensionally. We call this three-dimensional thinking, and higher-dimensional thinking refers to thinking on an even higher dimension.

  • An egg yolk can be extracted from the egg without breaking the shell

    "Is it possible to extract egg yolk without breaking the shell of the egg?
    We tend to believe that we cannot extract the yolk without cracking the egg. That is because we are thinking in three dimensions. However, if we think in four dimensions, the yolk can be extracted without cracking the egg. This cannot be imagined by us, as we live in three-dimensional space.

    As this is difficult, we should now think of the egg as a flat fried egg, a two-dimensional object. In the three-dimensional world that we inhabit, we can extract the yolk of the fried egg from above, so we can easily extract the yolk without breaking the egg white. However, in a flat, two-dimensional world, there is no space, and we would exist on the same flat plane as the white egg. Therefore, as we would need to pass the same plane as the fried egg to extract the yolk, we would need to break the egg white to extract the yolk."

  • As demonstrated, thinking two-dimensionally and thinking three-dimensionally are literally on different levels. Being on different levels means that how things are seen and thought of, along with methods of resolution, are completely different.

  • Cities are surrounded by flat planes, and paper, books, TVs and smartphones are also flat planes

    In nature, such as in forests and mountains, there are no flat planes, and the landscape is complex and three-dimensional. Humans were aware of three-dimensional spaces with their bodies. However, in the city, there are only flat planes. Further, paper, books, TVs, and smartphones are also flat planes. Without realizing it, we are abandoning our bodies and becoming aware of the world two-dimensionally with our minds only. If we are aware of the world two-dimensionally, our thoughts become two-dimensional. For example, if the company that you work for has a diagram called an organization chart, your organization is two-dimensional, and therefore obviously, two-dimensional thinking is prevalent in your organization.

  • Three-dimensional and higher-dimensional thinking using the body

    Humans understand the world and think with their bodies. While exploring a complex, three-dimensional world with their bodies, humans understand the world three-dimensionally, and their thoughts become three-dimensional. The teamLab Athletics Forest project was started to encourage enhancement of three-dimensional and higher-dimensional thinking through the body.

BACK